Former Franciscan Monastery

A fateful event occurred in 1941, when the Germans confiscated the building, demolished the church down to the presbytery and deported the monks and founded a German high school at the site. Franciscans had a significant impact on culture, education, and welfare of the local community. Today, the renovated building houses the Brežice Grammar School.

Nekdanji Frančiškanski samostan
The monastery and the Church of St. Anthony of Padua were established by the Frankopan family between 1660 and 1685. Following the earthquake in January 1917, the monastery was rebuilt as a two-storey building. In April 1941, the Germans deported the monks, demolished the church and part of the monastery and founded a German high school at the site. Franciscans had a significant impact on culture, education, and welfare of the local community. By demolishing and abolishing the monastery, urban and spiritual aspects of life were affected. Today, the renovated building houses the Brežice Grammar School.

In front of the building stands a work of sculptor Stojan Batič, the bronze monument from 1956 – Suzana – as a part of the public space and represents a unique example of a public monument dedicated to a young, grammar school student entering her adulthood. The artistic work is a nude sculpture and portrays an independent figure of a young woman symbolising youthful spirit and determination in a relaxed, sitting posture, captured in a playful motion.

Trg izgnancev 14, 8250 Brežice

© 2022 discoverbrezice.com
web design: ETREND

×

BASKET

TO CHECKOUT
BACK TO SHOPPING